The knowledge of reports and dashboard sharing is a must for all admins who want to show and enable the right reports for their users. Below you will find a table that I use as a guide to setup the sharing model (I have illustrated for reports, while the same permissions exist for dashboards).

User profile permission               What that will do
Capture.JPG

Text from the image above:

  1. Run report: Run report in ‘my‘ (private) folder/’unified public folder‘/’shared‘ folder with at least ‘viewer access’
  2. Create and customize reports: 1 + create, edit and delete ‘my‘ report in ‘my‘ (private) folder/ create, edit and delete ‘my‘ report ‘unified public folder‘ folder/ only createmy‘ report in ‘shared‘ folder with ‘viewer access‘/ create, edit and delete ‘my‘ report in ‘shared‘ folder with at least ‘editor access
  3. Create report folders: <as the name suggests>
  4. Edit my reports: 2 + create, edit and delete ‘my‘ report in ‘shared‘ folder even with ‘viewer access
  5. View reports in Public folder: Run ‘any‘ report in ‘shared‘ folder with ‘no access
  6. Manage reports in Public folder: create, edit and delete  ‘any‘ report in ‘shared‘ folder with ‘no access‘/change sharing settings of the report folder
  7. View all data: Run ‘any‘ report in ‘shared‘ folder with ‘no access‘/ Edit dashboard running user

Salesfore References:
User Profile Permissions for Sharing Reports and Dashboards
Report and Dashboard Folders sharing access levels

Hope this was useful.

